Monday, August 19, 2013

What are the 40 Classic Meditation Objects?

The Buddha taught 40 principal meditation objects = kammatthāna:
Kammatthāna literally means: Place of work, basis of action leading
to the various degrees of mental meditational absorption jhāna:.

These 40 meditation subjects are:
I. Ten kasina exercises: Kasina = 'Entirety'. All 4 jhānas possible:
1: Earth kasina, 2: Water kasina, 3: Fire kasina, 4: Wind kasina,
5: Blue kasina, 6: Yellow kasina, 7: Red kasina, 8: White kasina,
9: Light or consciousness kasina, 10: Space kasina.

II. Ten perceptions of disgust: asubha-sañña: 1st jhāna possible:
A swollen & bloated corpse, a bluish livid corpse, a rotting corpse,
a cut-up & split corpse, a gnawed corpse, a hacked corpse, a spread
scattered corpse, a bloody corpse, a corpse of maggots, a skeleton.

III. Ten contemplations, remembrances or recollections anussati::
1: On the Buddha, 2: The Dhamma, 3: Noble Sangha community,
4: Morality, 5: Generosity, 6: Heavenly divine beings, 7: Death,
8: Body, 9: In-and-out-breathing All 4 jhānas possible!, 10: Peace.
IV. Four divine abodes or infinite states brahma-vihāra:
1: All-embracing friendliness = mettā, 2: Pity = karunā,
3: Mutual joy = muditā, 4: Equanimity = upekkhā:.

V. Four formless spheres arūpāyatana: based on the 4th jhāna:
1: The infinitude of space, 2: The infinitude of consciousness,
3: Empty nothingness, 4: Neither-perception-nor-non-perception.

VI. Perception of the disgust of food. āhāre patikkūla-saññā:
VII. Defining Analysis of the four elements dhātu-vavatthāna:.
More details on these 40 precious objects:
The 40 Classic Meditation Objects!
Have a nice & noble day!
Friendship is the Greatest! Bhikkhu Samāhita _/\_ ]

No comments: