Monday, May 6, 2013

The Golden Buddhist Life Standards 1

The golden Buddhist's life standards make harmony for oneself and others.
This layman's code of discipline = (gihi-vinaya) organize social relationships
so that they produce a society of happy being and beings... :-)
Law 1: Avoid the 14 kinds of Wrong Behaviour:

A. Refraining from the 4 actions that defile mentality (kammakilesa):
1: Killing, violence, harming, breaking, or taking of any life (pānātipāta).
2: Stealing, theft, misappropriation, and violating property rights (adinnādāna).
3: Sexual misconduct such as adultery and paedophilia (kāmesumicchācāra).
4: Speaking false, lying, misleading, deceiving, and pretending (musāvāda).

B. Desisting from the 4 kinds of badly twisted behaviour (agati):
5: Biased and skewed behaviour based on desire, lust, and greed (chandagati).
6: Biased and skewed behaviour based on anger, hate, and opposition (dosagati).
7: Biased and skewed behaviour based on fear, anxiety, and timidity (bhayagati).
8: Biased and skewed behaviour based on ignorance, confusion, and doubt (mohagati).

C. Avoiding the six channels leading to ruin apāya-mukha, lit: The mouth of the downfall:9: Being addicted to drinking alcohol and/or taking drugs.
10: Always revelling in party, nightlife, and careless company.
11: Being restlessly bent on empty entertainments and amusements.
12: Being addicted to gambling, betting, and gaming.
13: Associating with evil friends.
14: Being chronically lazy.
Source:A constitution for Living. Buddhist Principles for a Fruitful and Harmonious Life.
Ven. P.A. Payutto.  Buddhist Publication Society 2007: BP 620S
The Golden Buddhist Life Standards 1
Have a nice & noble day!
Friendship is the Greatest! Bhikkhu Samāhita _/\_ ]

No comments: