Monday, May 6, 2013

The Golden Buddhist Life Standards 4!

The golden Buddhist's life standards make harmony for oneself and others.
This layman's code of discipline = (gihi-vinaya) organize social relationships
so that they produce a society of happy beings being in sweet harmony...
Law 4: Helping all beings achieve their advantageous goals!One should help oneself, one should help others and one should help both oneself and others...
Helping oneself will develop one's life towards progress, prosperity, and happiness.
Helping others by inducing and encouraging them to develop their lives, gives same benefits.
Helping oneself and others creates a mutual goal and advantage for both parties.
This collective benefit, leads to happiness and virtue of the community & society.
An example is environmental conditions, which we all should help create and conserve
in order to help both ourselves and others to a happy & better future.
Helping all people is joining in constructively creating a social harmony and unity...
Helping all beings is expanding this gentle and subtle harmony universally!
The Four Principles for Help:
1. Dāna: Giving and sharing (helping through money and material goods).
2. Piyavāca: Kind, friendly & polite speech (helping through words & explanation).
3. Atthacariyā: Helpful bodily action (helping attaining goals through physical effort).
4. Samānattatā: Participation & assistance (helping with collective construction & problem solving).

The 3 Levels of Goals:

1. First level: Present benefits to be seen & utilized here and now (ditthadhammikattha):
a) Having good health, a strong body, freedom from disease, pleasant appearance, and long life.
b) Having work and income, honest livelihood, and economic self-reliance.
c) Having good status, being of good standing in the community.
d) Having a happy family worthy of admiration & respect.

2. Second level: Religious goals for further advantages (samparāyikattha):
a) Warmth, deep appreciation and happiness through faith of having a true ideal.
b) Pride in having a clean life, in having done only morally irreproachable deeds.
c) Gratification in a worthwhile life, in having made sacrifices and done much good.
d) Courage & confidence by having understanding to deal with problems & guide own & other's life.
e) Security and freedom from worry in having done good as an investment for the future life.

3. Third level: The absolute and ultimate Goal (paramattha):
a) Not wavering in face of common vicissitudes and inevitable changes.
b) Not being depressed, despaired, or distressed because of clinging to attachments.
c) Being assured, secure, calm, clear, cheerful, and mentally buoyant at all times.
d) Living and acting with wisdom, which looks rationally at all causes and conditions.
e) Approaching Nibbāna - the deathless element - the highest bliss - the final peace - the highest goal

One who is able to attain the second level of goals & upwards is known as a wise man (pandita).
Source:A constitution for Living. Buddhist Principles for a Fruitful and Harmonious Life.
Ven. P.A. Payutto. Thailand. Buddhist Publication Society 2007: BP 620S
Sound Ethics make Harmony. On these golden Buddhist Life Standards:

The Golden Buddhist Life Standards 4!
Have a nice & noble day!
Friendship is the Greatest! Bhikkhu Samāhita _/\_ ]

No comments: