Wednesday, July 11, 2012

The Four Grades of Vision!

The Blessed Buddha once said:
In this some recluse or priest by means of alert energetic effort and
enthusiasm, through proper rational attention & concentrated focus
reaches absorption on this sole thought: In this foul body of disgusting
things enclosed by skin, there are head & body hairs, nails, teeth, skin,
flesh, sinews, bones, marrow, kidneys, heart, liver, pleura, spleen, lungs,
mesentery, intestines, stomach, excrement, bile, lymph, pus, blood, sweat,
fat, tears, tallow, spittle, snot, urine and joint-fluid...
This is the first attainment of Vision...
Empty Frame: Having done this and gone beyond it, he regards & perceives
body, own or others, only as a chained frame of bones covered with flesh,
vessels, fat & skin. This is the second attainment of Vision...
Chain of Moments: Having done this & gone further, he comes to understand
directly experience this continuous sequence of discrete conscious moments
established in and manifesting both this world and all the other dimensions.
This is the third attainment of Vision...
Continuous yet not Established: Finally, having done this & gone even further
beyond that, he comes to understand & directly experience this unbroken
stream of consciousness, which is neither established in, nor manifesting anything
 in this or any other world... This is the fourth attainment of Vision...

More on crucial 1st & 2nd Anatomical Visions:

Source: The Exhaustive Speeches by the Buddha. Digha Nikāya III 105-5
Winning Vision!
Have a nice & noble day!
Friendship is the Greatest!
Bhikkhu Samāhita _/\_ ]

No comments: